Establishing a more consistent presence with my blogging

blogging 101It’s been some time since I really sat down and wrote out my thoughts in my blog. To tell you the truth, I’ve become an avid reader of the thoughts and opinions of everyone else, and busied myself with retweeting those rather than compiling my own collective thoughts and putting them out there for others to read. I don’t think I’m alone in this.

Here’s how I see it. You have the one camp that doesn’t dare put their views out there because they don’t have anything to say, or feel that they have little to add to the multiple discourses that are being shared every second via social media. How could they possibly contribute anything more than is already being shared. Whether this comes from a place of overactive humility or a lack of confidence is irrelevant. The people in this camp probably have something valuable to say and their voice isn’t being heard. In this narcissistic world of selfies and status updates, it’s hard to think that anything we might have to say might be read by anyone else for serious consideration. I find myself in this camp. But this all needs to change. I’ve tweeted, pinned, LinkedIn with the best of them only to feel like I’ve said very little about my thoughts. Instead, I’ve promoted everyone else, and delegated myself to a place of personal silence. I’ve played it safe, and as a result, I’ve become very dissatisfied with the position I’m in just restating the obvious, and not really contributing to the knowledge pool.

Part of this is directly the result of seeing so much arrogance of self promotion that I’ve pulled back. Yet, I’ve come to realize that I once was a regular contributor to the sharing of my own ideas in the classroom, I once taught in, or from beyond the podium in the lecture hall. I don’t like what I’ve become. Maybe my own personal failures in life have contributed to my silence, leaving me to think that I have little to add. Nothing bothers me more than the self righteous arrogance that ignores the reality that perfection does not exist or pretends to have all the answers. I don’t want to be that person. But I’ve realized that there are others like me out there that want to hear some honest discourse about how hard it is to make sense of this reality we live in called the 21st century.

With that, my desire is to create a more consistent presence with my blogging. I have a lot to say, and it’s time to say it.

Leave a Reply

